Women in Wine Awards

Thursday, June 06, 2024 • 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM PDT


Event Details

The Women in Wine Awards were created to recognize the remarkable women in the wine business who have been the driving force for change and progress. The women being celebrated have pioneered sustainable wine production practices, promoted inclusivity and diversity within the industry, and spearheaded projects that support local communities and environmental conservation. These women come from various fields within the wine industry, from winemaking to hospitality.

Members of the business community all throughout the North Bay were given the chance to recognize and nominate a remarkable woman in the wine business for this award.

The North Bay Business Journal aims to name seven total categories within this award, which each signify their own unique and impactful honor.

The Impactful Leader Award sponsored by DP&F: Recognizing a woman in the wine industry who has significantly influenced and positively transformed her field. Through her actions, innovations, and dedication, she has made a profound difference, leaving a lasting mark on the industry and inspiring others to drive meaningful change.

Winner: Violet Grgich, President and CEO of Grgich Hills Estate Winery

Winner: Lauren Wong, VP of Sales & Marketing at Aperture Cellars

Winner: Jessica Limon, Senior Manager of Trade & Consumer Hospitality at Gallo

The Rising Star Award sponsored by Corksy: Awarding a promising newcomer who has already shown remarkable potential and early accomplishments in any area of the wine industry.

Winner: Melissa Smith, Owner of Enotrias

The Heart of the Community Award sponsored by Far Niente: Celebrating a woman who has made significant contributions to her local wine community through advocacy, events, and outreach efforts.

Winner: Drea Helfer, President of DH Wine Compliance

Winner: Linda Mayberry-Chavez, Chief Executive Officer of Chavez Family Cellars

The Excellence in Sustainability Award sponsored by TricorBraun WinePak: Recognizing a woman who has made significant strides in promoting and implementing sustainable and environmentally responsible practices within the wine industry.

Winner: Sarah Wuethrich, Winemaker at Maggy Hawk and WindRacer

Winner: Chris Kajani, President and Winemaker at Bouchaine Vineyards

The Trailblazer Award: Celebrating a woman’s pioneering spirit, groundbreaking contributions, and forward-thinking innovations that have pushed the boundaries of winemaking, viticulture, or the wine business. It honors her role as a visionary driving positive change and setting new standards within the wine world.

Winner: Philana Bouvier, President at Demeine Estates

Winner: MJ Dale, CEO of Customer Vineyard

The Inspirational Leader Award Honors a trailblazing woman within the wine industry who excels in her role and serves as a source of motivation and empowerment to others.

Winner: Rachel Ashley, Senior Vice President of Supply at Treasury Wine Estates

Winner: Anisya Thomas Fritz, Proprietor at Lynmar Estate Winery

Winner: Leslie Frank, Co-Founder of Frank Family Vineyards

The Excellence in Winemaking Award: Recognizing a female winemaker who has demonstrated exceptional skills, innovation, and consistency in producing high-quality wines.

Winner: Jessica Koga, Winemaker at Schramsberg Vineyards

Winner: Maggie Kruse, Head Winemaker at Jordan Vineyard and Winery

Winner: Akiko Freeman, Co-Owner & Winemaker at Freeman Vineyard and Winery

The Excellence in Winegrowing Award sponsored by So Co Winegrowers: Honoring a trailblazing female vintner whose prowess, ingenuity, and steadfast dedication have consistently yielded superb wines of unparalleled quality.

Winner: Karin Warnelius-Miller, Proprietor, Winegrape Grower, and Winemaker at Garden Creek Ranch Vineyards Winery

The Legacy Award: Honors exceptional women who have made significant and lasting contributions to the wine industry.

Winner: Kimberlee Nicholls, Winemaker at Markham Vineyards

Winner: Linda Trotta, VP of Global Winemaking & Sourcing at WX Brands

The winners of these awards were carefully selected by a panel of judges who assessed their achievements, leadership examples, and career impacts. The judges found these winners to best represent each category’s award. 

Venue Information

MacMurray Ranch
9015 Westside Road
Healdsburg, CA 95448

Organizer Information

North Bay Business Journal

416 B Street
Ste A.
Santa Rosa, CA 95401
+1 (707) 521-5231

More Events